Race Recap: Riverside Dash 5K

Race Logo

 

 

This is the 2nd annual Riverside Dash held in Sanford, FL. This was my first run of it. The race had a 15k and a 5k. I choose to run the 5k to continue practicing my 5k race time. This was also my first time in Downtown Sanford. It was really a beautiful run along their lake as the sun was rising.

 

The events began with the start of the 15k. We watched as the runners took off and lined up at the start line for the 5k immediately following.

Photo Apr 06, 7 00 09 AM

 

My friends were all determined to do the best that they could. Mike wanted to win it all! But looked like a kid of around 11 beat us! We all placed in our respective age groups. I took 1st for age group 25-29 which was really exciting since it was the first time I had won a race award! However at the awards announcement they said they would mail out my prize to me so I shall update when that arrives!

This could be marked as my best 5k yet, I felt great the entire race, running with my new Nike Flyknit Free Runs I didn’t experience any kind of running pains, which is half the battle. I focused on my breathing and my strides and just kept on pushing!

Photo Apr 06, 7 35 38 AM

 

Everyone had a great time and we look forward to next years race as well as looking on to the next race which for me is just next week.

 

Photo Apr 06, 7 33 55 AM Photo Apr 06, 7 34 25 AM Photo Apr 06, 7 34 48 AM

Photo Apr 07, 7 34 33 AM

 

 

 

One thought on “Race Recap: Riverside Dash 5K

Leave a comment