Week 6 of Marathon Training!

Hello Runners! It’s been awhile, lots has be going on since my last post! I’ll give y’all a quick update!

I’m half way though my 6th week of training for the Walt Disney World Marathon! It’s been going GREAT! My longest run so far and EVER was last week of 16 miles! I have another 16 mile run this week and should be just as great!

IMG_2740

I’ve done a few short races in between, which has helped with my speed a bit.

Before we get into the actual running, how about some accessories! I started my training off with a brand new pair of shoes from Skora. These shoes have been great so far and very comfortable. I highly recommend them!

IMG_2685

Next was a little present I got myself for my birthday! This device syncs up with the app I use while running called iSmoothRun. It displays all my running info in real time as well as controls the app so I don’t have to take my phone out to pause or stop or to even change the music. The Magellan Echo is a great addition for any runner like myself who wants their phone with them but don’t need to carry it in their hand!

IMG_2824With all my fun running accessories, comes time for running! And Fall time is RACE time!

IMG_4098

This year my company held its first “Cast 5K” at ESPN Wide World of Sports, I was THIS close to placing 3rd, but it was a great morning!

IMG_4974My birthday was just a few days ago and what else would I do for such a special occasion besides run!? So of course I signed up for a race on my birthday! It was the Celebration Pancake Run. Yes! Pancakes and running, two amazing things. I got 1st in my age category for the 10k. It was a great run for me. I felt comfortable the entire race and hardly winded. Each time I race I feel better, proving that with time and practice comes improvement! It makes me feel more confident for the next race.

IMG_2853

This brings us to this week! I have lots of running ahead of me before the BIG day. I’m excited! Nike Coach has been great! It gives me lots of running days with plenty of rest time. It’s keeping me fresh but also challenging me to push further each week.

IMG_2907

See you real soon!

IMG_4016

2 thoughts on “Week 6 of Marathon Training!

  1. Great read Frank and even better to hear your progressing extremely well. The weather is getting to be ideal down there to run and train as you get closer to your marathon. Keep it up:). From a northern friend!

Leave a comment